Artist’s Way Book Review

You may find it a bit preachy or new-agey, but the ideas in this book are extremely useful.  Back in my college years, I thought this book was genius.  Although I was not a repressed creative like the target market of the book, I found the exercises exceedingly stimulating.

The tools Cameron suggests, morning pages, weekly artist’s dates, walking, plus various exercises at the end of each chapter, are great tools for anybody wanting a fuller more robust life.  Although the morning pages can get a bit tedious (every morning!), I found the brain dump from them tremendously freeing and inspiring.  Putting all the mental garbage onto paper and out of my head, cleared my mind for more creative pursuits.  And the three page daily minimum eventually encourages more creative thought.  Although I continued the morning pages for many years after I completed the book, I no longer do them.  Would they still benefit me?  I believe so.  Is it worth getting up every day and do them?  I don’t know.  But right now, I haven’t made the time to do it.  Perhaps I will tomorrow…

For a blocked creative, unafraid of waking up their inner artist child, I would recommend this book.  For anyone that doesn’t believe in all the New Age stuff, skip it.

One suggestion.  Over and over again people complain about not being able to continue with the book.  If you are having trouble completing it and keeping yourself accountable, join a group.  Either online, at a bookstore, Meetup, or create your own.  I found it is the only way to keep momentum.

Leave a comment